Thanksgiving HandPrint Runner

I always am searching through everything on Pinterest.   I came across a wonderful idea of a hand printed table runner.   I wish I came across it last year.  When my son was born,  I had all these ideas to do things with hand and foot prints.   When he was born I was scared to put paint on his tiny little hands.  Now that he is a year old it’s easier to do things like that.

When I saw the idea of a hand print table runner,  I went out looking for one for Thankgiving.   Each year I will use a different color paint and paint his hands and then place it on the table runner.  I will also date it.  I started it this year and it’s a nice way to see how his hands grow and he can see it as well when he gets older.  I started on one side of the table runner and the other side will be for the next child (if we are able to have another child).

The things that I needed were a paint brush, acrylic paint and a table runner.  This year my husband picked the color and he picked orange.   I placed the arylic paint on my son’s hands.   I did one at a time so that he will not get it all over one of us.  Right away we cleaned his hands. It was quick and easy to do.  It also dried right away.   I dated the hand prints the next day with black arylic paint. Below is a photo of the first step.  I hope this inspires you to make your own.  It’s a special keepsake to have.  Happy crafting.

img_6216

Leave a Reply

