First Birthday Timeline

I created a monthly timeline of my son for his first birthday.   I had pictures of each month from his 1st month to the 12th month.  I chose one photo from each month that had showed his growth process.  It’s amazing to see myself how much my son grew in a year.  It was very hard for me to chose one photo because I had many favorites per month but I did it.  I placed this timeline on our stairs to showcase him.   Of course it was a Cookie Monster theme so the months were written on chocolate chip cookies (paper) and then I placed the photo onto either blue or yellow cardstock.   I started creating this timeline over the summer which gave me about 3 months to complete.  As a working mom, I had to make sure that I had everything ready for his birthday, so I started earlier.   Below are the steps which I took to create the monthly timeline.

Materials

  • crayons- brown and blue
  • photos- one for each month plus a newborn
  • ribbon
  • tape
  • clothes pins
  • cardstock- tan, yellow and blue

Steps

  1. Cut out large circles on brown cardstock.  Color chocolate chips with a brown crayon.
  2. Use blue crayon to write each month (newbown, 1 month, 2 months, etc…)
  3. Fold blue and yellow cardstock in half. Cut them.  You should have 7 blue and 6 yellow.
  4. Tape the cookie month to the blue or yellow cardstock.  Continue until you are finished.
  5. Add a photo for each month.
  6. Cut a ribbon long enough to fit all the months on it.
  7. Take each month and place a clothes pin to hold it in place.

 

 

I hope this helps you create your own monthly timeline to showcase your child on their first birthday.

Leave a Reply

