One World Observatory

img_5793

It’s finally finished and we finally found time to go and visit one of the tallest buildings in the Western Hemisphere.  One World Observatory is an amazing place to visit.  The view from the top is just breathe taking.

One World Observatory was built to symbolize our freedom in New York City after tragedy struck on 9/11.  Growing up in Queens and taking the 7 train to get to high school, I remember seeing the World Trade towers.   On that tradgeic day,  it hit me how important it is to love your loved ones and just live in the moment.

My husband, son and best friend went to One World Observatory on a Saturday afternoon.  It was a bucket list for us to visit this amazing building.  We ordered tickets before we got there and we didn’t have to wait to long on line.  You do go through metal detectors like at the airport. I did not have a problem with that because I knew that it was for my safety.  Once we finished with the metal detectors we continued on our way to a room to get the elevators.

Once in the elevators,  the workers tell you to face the panels.  I was now interested.  As the elevator goes up, on the panels you see the history of the city and what it looked like.  It was amazing and I have never seen something like that.  Once we got to the 102nd floor,  we exited the elevators and continued to another room.  In this room, there were panels and there was a short video.  Once the video stops the panels rise and you get the first view of the Manhattan skyline from the 102nd floor.  We exited the room to now go to the I observation deck.

As we entered the observation deck, your breathe is taken away. The view is breathe taking and you don’t know where you want to look.  We walked around and saw the whole city plus New Jersey.  Even my son said some ohs and ahhs.

Once we finished at One World Observatory, we went and saw the water pools. My husband and I have seen them after the tradegic event and even today it still brings chills to me.  I stood in a moment of silence while there and traced my hand over the names on the panels.  I may have never known these innocent people that lost their lives but I felt their families pain.  I look forward to going back and visiting when my son is older and understands becaus I will tell him the history of that tradegic day and what One World Observatory means to me as well as my husband.

 

Leave a Reply

